Chasing The Wind

THE NEW NOVEL FROM C. C. HUMPHREYS

FASTEN YOUR SEAT BELTS, BOYS!  ROXY’S FLYING…

“A barrel rolling barn burner of a book.” Diana Gabaldon, author of  Outlander.

 

Doubleday Canada Cover

Amazon (World Cover)

The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear.

 

 

 

You should never fall in love with a flyer. You should only fall in love with flight.

That’s what Roxy Loewen always thought, until she falls for fellow pilot Jocco Zomack as they run guns into Ethiopia. Jocco may be a godless commie, but his father is a leading art dealer and he’s found the original of Bruegel’s famous painting, the Fall of Icarus. The trouble is, it’s in Spain, a country slipping fast into civil war. The money’s better than good–if Roxy can just get the painting to Berlin and back out again before Reichsmarshall Hermann Göring and his Nazi pals get their hands on it . . .

But this is 1936, and Hitler’s Olympics are in full swing. Not only that, but Göring has teamed up with Roxy’s greatest enemy: Sydney Munroe, an American billionaire responsible for the death of her beloved dad seven years before. When the Nazis steal the painting, Roxy and Jocco decide that they are just going to have to steal it back.

What happens when Icarus flies too close to the sun? Roxy is going to find out. From African skies to a cellar in Madrid, from the shadow cast by the swastika to the world above the clouds on the Hindenburg’s last voyage, in the end Roxy will have just two choices left–but only one bullet.

“Flying on the wings of Humphreys’s vivid imagination, spunky aviatrix Roxy Loewen soars from Ethiopia to Madrid, as the Spanish Civil War rages, and to Berlin and Hitler’s Olympics, where she contends against the Nazi elite in a struggle to retrieve a stolen 16th century painting. A hold-onto-your-seats aerial display with the throttle open all the way.” – William Deverell, author of ‘Needles’ and ‘Trial of Passion’.

Chasing the Wind has everything a historical fiction reader could want. The suspense is wonderful; the writing is sure and confident; and the dialogue is witty and fast paced. I was completely engrossed from the very beginning.” – Roberta Rich, author of The Midwife of Venice

COMING TO BOOKSTORES, ONLINE AND IN YOUR TOWNS, JUNE 5th 2018!